

LUBBOCK COUNTY WATER CONTROL & IMPROVEMENTS DISTRICT NO. 1

9999 High Meadow Road – Lubbock, TX 79404 Administration Office: (806)747-3353 – Fax: (806)747-3714

Minutes CALLED MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2020

The Lubbock County Water Control and Improvement District No. 1 (LCWCID) Board of Directors met in CALLED meeting on TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2020, at 9:00 a.m in the Party House located at Buffalo Springs Lake, 9999 High Meadow Road, Lubbock, Texas. Notice of the meeting was legally posted in accordance with Government Code, Title 551, Open Meetings

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER AND INVOCATION

President Moore called the Regular Board Meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. at the Buffalo Springs Lake Party House.

2. ANNOUNCEMENT OF QUORUM

Present in the District Office board room were President Bill Moore, Vice President Casey Hildebrandt, Director Satterwhite, Director Lewis and General Manager Brandon Powell.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

Paula Montoya Lot 542- A, spoke to the board regarding the tent camping beside her resident Crystal Ontiveros renters at Lot 110 spoke to the Board with interest in taking over the Buffalo Bay Marina.

4. EXECUTIVE SESSION

No Action taken

- A. Section 551.074, Personnel
- B. Section 551.0725, Contracts
- C. Section 551.072. Deliberations about Real Property

5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The motion passed unanimously to approve the minutes of August 11, 2020 and August 20, 2020

6. **NEW BUSINESS**

i) DISCUSS/ TAKE ACTION ON THE FOLLWING ITEMS FOR THE NOVEMBER 3, 2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS WITH GENERAL ELECTION

(a) JOINT ELECTION OFFICER FOR NOVEMBER 3, 2020 GENERAL AND SPECIAL ELECTIONS

Director Lewis made a motion to appoint Dorothy Kennedy, in her capacity as Elections Administrator as the Joint Elections Officer for the November 3, 2020 General & Special Elections. Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

(b) JOINT EARLY VOTING CLERK FOR NOVEMBER 3, 2020 GENERAL & SPECIAL ELECTIONS

Director Lewis made a motion to appoint Dorothy Kennedy, in her capacity as Elections Administrator as the Joint Early Voting Clerk for the November 3, 2020 General and Special Elections. Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

(c) NOTICE OF EARLY VOTING DATES, TIMES & LOCATIONS

Director Lewis made a motion to approve the Early Voting Dates, Times and Locations for the November 3, 2020 General and Special Elections. Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

(d) MAIN EARLY VOTING SITE FOR NOVEMBER 3, 2020 GENERAL & SPECIAL ELECTIONS

Director Lewis made a motion to approve the Elections Office to Serve as the Main Early Voting Polling Place for the November 3, 2020 General and Special Elections. With 916 Main Street, 1st Floor as alternate site if needed. Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

(e) Early Voting Ballot Board

Director Lewis made a motion to appoint Johnny Franklin, DeAnn Britton, Alisha Putman, Beth Shapiro, Billie Russell, Laura Grayson, Melissa Chamales, Yvonne Dorman, Vernon Kaufman, Vicky Keller, Shirley McBride, Lois Baird, Nathan Lewis, Steve Sucsy, Juan Mojica, and Mona Mojica as the Early Voting Ballot Board for the November 3, 2020 General and Special Elections pursuant to Texas Election Code Section 87.002. Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

(f) Early Voting Ballot Board Presiding and Alternate Judge

Director Lewis made a motion to appoint Johnny Franklin as the Presiding Judge and DeAnn Britton as the Alternate Judge of the Early Voting Ballot Board for the November 3, 2020 General and Special Elections pursuant to Texas Election Code Section 87.001 & 87.002. Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

(g) Bilingual Election Clerks at the Elections Office

Director Lewis made a motion to appoint Andrea Alvarado, Sandy Salazar & Aaron Frodsham as Bilingual Election Clerks for the November 3, 2020 General and Special Elections pursuant to Texas Election Code Section 272.009(b). Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

(h) Central Count Station Personnel

Director Lewis made a motion to appoint Dorothy Kennedy, in her capacity as Elections Administrator, as the Central Count Manager, Roxzine Stinson as the Tabulation Supervisor, Charla Carpenter as the Assistant Tabulation Supervisor, Tom Grimes as the Presiding Judge, and Billy Martinez as the Alternate Judge of the Central Count Station for the November 3, 2020 General and Special Elections. Director Satterwhite seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

7. OLD BUSINESS

A. Discuss and Consider and take action for Marina Contract & Greg Thornton's Boat Dock Proposal (Jody Jenkins review)

No discussion for lack of motion

B. Discuss and Consider and take action the approval of the next ADA Bathroom Project (amphitheater or Sandy Point)

Director Lewis made a motion to Discuss and Consider and take action the approval of the next ADA Bathroom Project (amphitheater or Sandy Point) Director Satterwhite seconded, the motion Passes.

Both projects will be sent out for bids

C. Discuss and Consider and take action with the 2021 Budget

Director Lewis made a motion to Discuss and Consider and take action with the 2021 Budget Director Satterwhite seconded, the motion passes

No action was taken, tables to October Board Meeting

8. REPORTS

A. Finance Report by Heather Purcell

Mrs. Purcell gave the finance report for the month

B. Police Department Report by Chief Naron

Chief Naron gave the incident report for the month

C. Managers' Report by Brandon Powell

Mr. Powell discussed the Damn infrastructure grant, 230 C eviction they have since moved out, Road repairs and Paving, having a water line to the trees and waterfall at the front entrance.

9. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Adjourned for Executive session at 9:48 am

- **A**. Section 551.074, Personnel
- B. Section 551.0725, Contracts
- C. Section 551.072. Deliberations about Real Property

10. RE-OPEN IN REGULAR SESSION AND TAKE ACTION IF NECESSARY

Re-opened in regular session at 10:43 am

11. PUBLIC COMMENT

No Public comments

The Board of Directors will allow individuals to speak to the Board. The time limit is two (2) minutes per speaker. The Board may not discuss these items but may respond with a factual or policy information

12. DISCUSSION ITEMS

No items

13. ADJOURN

The Board of Directors adjourned at 10:45 am.

Bill Moore, President	
Date:	